National Honor Society




NHS Photo

Membership in the CYHS chapter of the National Honor Society is open to juniors and seniors who are academically eligible. In addition to scholarship, all applicants must demonstrate all of the other standards of the National Honor Society, including leadership, service, and character.

Membership in NHS is a privilege. All four standards have equal weight in determining whether or not a student becomes a member. Induction takes place in the fall semester. All members are expected to continue to exhibit the four standards of the National Honor Society in order to maintain membership.

Regular NHS meetings are held in the auditorium on the first and third Wednesdays of the month. Meetings start promptly at 7:15 am. Make-up meetings for those who cannot attend a regular meeting are held in room 427 on the second and fourth Monday of the month during flex. Meetings begin promptly at 2:07. Information on school delays is at the bottom of this page. Attendance is taken at all meetings. If you arrive after 7:20 for a regular meeting, you are late and will be listed as absent. If you arrive after 2:12 for a make-up meeting, the same policy applies.

There are four meetings every month in order to allow members some flexibility in attending meetings. Members who have college classes are still obligated to attend 2 meetings each month. If they have morning classes, members may leave the meetings at 7:30, which will allow enough time to get to York College or PSU York.

Members are required to attend 2 meetings each month. In addition, members are only allowed to miss 2 meetings per semester. If 1 meeting is missed, members will receive a warning letter from the officers. If 2 meetings are missed, members will meet with the advisers who will inform them that if they miss one more meeting, they will come before the Faculty Council and face possible dismissal from NHS.

Members of the National Honor Society and the community can use this site to find out important information, including eligibility, meeting requirements, and the chapter by-laws.

All members must register at the NHS Facebook page, and join the NHS group in Schoology, in order to stay informed and to sign up for group projects.

2017-2018 NHS Officers:

Lauren Yankanich (President)

Catalina Feistritzer (Vice President)

Trevor Blood (Secretary)

 Olivia Sopko (Treasurer)

Camryn Sopkop (Historian)


National Honor Society meetings will be held as planned. 

However, if there is a 2 hour delay, then the meeting will be held 2 hours later, i.e., at 9:15 if it is the auditorium or at 9:20 if it is a make-up meeting. If the roads are very bad, remember that you only have to attend 2 meetings a month and can miss 2 meetings each semester. Your safety comes first.